MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING

Beaver River Property Owners Association, Inc. Sunday, July 4, 2010 • Beaver River Hotel, Beaver River Station, NY

Board members present: Carol Schoch, President; Don Phelps, Kathy Partridge, Steve Edic, Dennis Slater, Tom Calhoun. Absent: Gerry Fuerch

Also Attending: Ed Baranoski, Marie Baranoski, Nadine Bell, Bill Brod, John Brod, Jim Brod, Tom Brown, Donna Brown, Judi Calhoun, Don Converse, Jim Curtin, Vanna Curtin, Eileen Doyle, Ben Edic, Judy Edic, Charles Edic, Eleanor Hutchinski, Peter Hutchinski, Ed Jordan, Tim Klotz, Al Larmann, Jenny Lundberg, Sean Lundberg, Ron Nearing, Don Oberman, Pat Oberman, Donald Osborn, Jill Osborn, Bob Partridge, Ruth Phelps, Deborah Sawitz, Alexander Sawitz, Doug Schelleng, Larry Schoch, Doug Seamon, Gayle Seamon, Richard Searles, Phyllis Searles, Jackie Slater, Darrel Slater, Steve Smith, Lara Turney, Kim VanDresar, Todd VanDresar, Barb Weingart, Norm Winne, Chris Barbay, Vickie Barbay, Tyler Talbot, Kelly Talbot, Donna Kurish, Garrie Jones, Robert Arlington. Guest: Edee Partridge

President Carol Schoch called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

- Carol gave a brief report on the situation with Treasurer Gerry Fuerch, who was absent due to a family
 emergency. It was requested that dues renewals be held for a later date when the Treasurer can attend. No
 Treasurer's report was presented.
- 2. The May meeting minutes were passed around and read. An error was noted in "Also attending" with Deborah Sawitz stating that she had not attended the meeting. Tom Calhoun moved that the minutes be accepted as presented and corrected; Doug Seamon seconded. Passed.
- 3. Update on the dock situation: A total of ten Town of Webb and other officials came in to inspect the dock and take a Beaver River "road tour" on June 2. All had received the DEC's consent order. At this point, Town Supervisor Moore is reluctant to state with certainty that the Town will take over the dock. A major concern is that the dock is not ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) compliant and several changes, including widening the center walkway would be required. There is also a question of insurance availability and costs if the town takes the dock. The dock could be added to the Town's insurance for an additional cost but it (the dock) would have to be updated first. The town is aware that the current dock is inadequate to meet the needs of the community. Vehicle parking at Grassy Point has not been mentioned so far, nor has parking on the island during low water.
- 4. Discussion of recent arrests for 4-wheeler activities.
- 5. Fund-raising: Dennis Slater. Nothing to new to report, work is ongoing.
- 6. Social Events: Dennis Slater & Jim Curtin reported on the community pot-luck and other activities taking place that day, including water wars, dodge ball, canoe races and a tug-o-war at the waterfront in front of the Norridgewock. Dennis emphasized that this was not associated with any Beaver River organization and that everyone was invited. He thanked all who were involved in the planning including Ann-Marie Rascoe and Vickie Barbay who got it all going.
- 7. By-Laws Committee: Al Larmann. Work on by-laws updates is ongoing.

MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING

Beaver River Property Owners Association, Inc. Sunday, July 4, 2010 • Beaver River Hotel, Beaver River Station, NY

- 8. Insurance & consent order: Carol reported on the status of the insurance and explained once again that we have one policy that covers both the hi-railers and the dock. They cannot be separated. Dennis Slater and Jenny Lundberg, both members of the dock insurance committee appointed last fall, stated that a separate policy was impossible to find. Jenny contacted two insurers who both told her that we should stick with what we have now, that finding similar levels of coverage in a separate policy would not be affordable. Carol stated that the basic problem is that we don't have riparian rights where the dock is anchored. The entire insurance bill (\$3200) has been paid for the year.
- 9. Elections: The nominating committee consisted of Don Oberman, Ron Nearing and Ken Carman; they tried to find at least two candidates per office. In the course of their work the nominating committee discovered problems with some names on the current membership list; several people who have paid dues do not in fact appear to be eligible for membership according to the by-laws. There was also a discrepancy between the Treasurer's membership list (sent to the nominating committee) and the Secretary's; the latter having approximately 25 more names on it. In order to resolve the memberships in question, on June 23 Carol Schoch appointed a membership committee (per the by-laws, consisting of Carol, Kathy Partridge and Gerry Fuerch) that was to meet on Saturday, July 3 in Beaver River. Other Board members had a conflict. However, Gerry was called away on a family emergency so the membership committee was unable to meet. Under the circumstances Carol felt that it would be unfair to hold the elections as scheduled until the membership committee could ensure that all eligible members would be able to vote.

Motion: Eileen Doyle moved that any member on the Secretary's current list be eligible to vote in the election and that following the election the administration will appoint a new membership committee to resolve the membership questions for the 2010 – 2011 dues year. Bill Brod seconded.

Heated discussion followed.

At this point, President Carol Schoch submitted her letter of resignation to the Secretary and turned the gavel over to Vice-President Don Phelps.

Following a brief discussion, the Secretary took roll-call from her list of members. Fifty-nine people answered in the affirmative.

The question was called on Eileen Doyle's motion and a vote taken, the majority being in favor of holding the election this day.

Ron Nearing announced the nominations for President:

- Dennis Slater
- Tom Calhoun

Tom Calhoun nominated Don Phelps, who declined and Doug Seamon who also declined. Don Osborn moved to close the nominations and Bill Brod seconded. The teller (Nadine Bell) reported that Dennis Slater received the majority vote.

Nominations for Vice-President: Don Phelps ran unopposed. There were no nominations from the floor. Don Osborn moved to close the nominations and Bill Brod seconded. On a motion by Al Larmann the Secretary cast one ballot for Don Phelps for Vice-President. Majority approved.

MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING

Beaver River Property Owners Association, Inc. Sunday, July 4, 2010 • Beaver River Hotel, Beaver River Station, NY

Nominations for Secretary:

- Jenny Lundberg
- Gayle Seamon
- Barb Weingart

There being no nominations from the floor, Ben Edic moved to close the nominations and Don Osborn seconded. The teller reported that Gayle Seamon received the majority vote.

Nominations for Treasurer:

- Pat Oberman
- Jackie Slater

There being no nominations from the floor, Bill Brod moved to close the nominations and Dick Searles seconded. The teller reported that Jackie Slater received the majority vote.

Nominations for Board of Directors, for two open seats (after Dennis Slater was elected President).

- Bill Brod
- Tom Brown
- George Jordan
- Doug Seamon
- Lara Turney

There were no nominations from the floor. On a motion by Dennis Slater to give each voter two ballots, with the top two vote getters being appointed to fill the three year and two year terms respectively. Jim Curtin seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The tellers reported that Doug Seamon received the most votes and will fill the three year term, Bill Brod received the second highest vote total and will fill the two year seat.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:17 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Partridge

Secretary